Skip to content

X-es and…Well, more X-es!

September 29, 2015

Two dear friends of ours were married about ten days ago and since they are both adults with an established household, they didn’t really need much in the way of the usual wedding gifts.  They’d also indicated on their website that handmade gifts were welcome and I like to give something personalized to close friends on occasions like this.

I’ve been doing counted cross stitch since I was young (probably 10 years old or so), though it’s kind of gone by the wayside a little bit since I’ve picked up a lot of other crafts through the SCA.  Still, I knew I wanted to do a wedding design as a gift for them.  I did some searching online until I found a pattern that I thought they’d really like – not too traditionally wedding-y (no hearts and flowers) and no sappy poetic verse (we’re not that kind of folks).  Luckily, I also found a site where I could just buy the pattern and not have to lay out a lot of money for a full kit since I have lots of embroidery floss already and a big piece of Aida cloth is relatively inexpensive.

I started stitching the day after we got home from Pennsic and I worked for an hour or two most nights.  I finished the work just in time – the Thursday evening before the wedding!  That left me just enough time on Friday to remove as much cat hair as possible and press the wrinkles out of the piece before wrapping it up.

I had originally planned to keep track of how much time the project took, but I never started writing things down.  I did, however, take a photo of my work each day so I could see the progress I made.  Instead of a whole series of images, I learned a very basic new skill and used Windows Movie Maker to stitch the images together into a time-lapse video with a musical accompaniment.

I still really like this design and I’m happy with the way it turned out.  I like my little video, too!

OK, other new thing learned – since I didn’t pay for the upgraded version of WordPress I had to upload my video to YouTube and link to it…  But, here’s at least a picture of the finished product!  Click the “my little video” link above if you want to see the whole thing.
DA 33

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dawn permalink
    December 22, 2015 10:06 am

    Neat! I hadn’t seen the video until just today! Still trying to figure out how to frame it. It’s very lovely — and thanks so very much.

  2. December 22, 2015 12:21 pm

    You’re very welcome – it was my pleasure to make! I’ve always had good luck with Michael’s for framing needlework – they do a nice job.

  3. January 10, 2016 2:54 pm

    That is gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

