Skip to content

Last! Post! For Pennsic!

July 24, 2015

Apologies to the Beastie Boys for that one…

So we leave for Pennsic tomorrow morning.  The trailer is largely packed, though we still have to tarp and strap it, and the car needs to be loaded.  We’ll try to get up as early as possible tomorrow to get a good start – we’ll see how that goes.

I didn’t really have any major projects to make this year – the elevation prep kind of took over in May and June, and then my mother had hip replacement surgery at the beginning of July.  Here is the pile of Pennsic sewing for 2015 – mostly white linen.

IMG_1847Three pairs of braies, two shirts, and two fighting coifs for the Hubs, two pairs of white stockings for me, and a Midrealm pale tabard for the Hubs to wear while fighting.  He’s part of the Queen’s Guard this year, so he wanted to be identifiable.  The tabard is pretty standard (white with a red stripe running front and back) but I added the special device for the guard on the front with paint.

IMG_1846I think the device turned out all right, though I’m not entirely happy with the fabric marker I used for the outline.  I suppose it’s probably better on a tighter weave, but it tended to feather just a bit on the linen.  Well, it’s a fighting tabard, so it’s going to get beat up anyway, right?

I also still need to hem the tops of my stockings as well as an old white tunic that I undid the hem to give it a little more length.  I figured I would bring those items to work on in the car while we’re driving to keep myself entertained for a few hours.

IMG_1831I also made a small embroidered pouch as a gift for a friend who is being elevated to the Order of the Laurel at Pennsic.  I used a bit of the leftover silk I had from my own elevation garb, as well as the purple linen for the lining.  The embroidered initial and laurel wreath are done with silk, as is the lucet cord for the drawstring.

Instructions for the pouch can be found here.  These were the easiest instructions for a lined drawstring pouch I found – super simple and not requiring any convoluted instructions!  I scaled down the dimensions a bit based on the size of the silk strip I had to use and I think it worked out pretty well.

So that’s it!  Tonight we will finish packing the trailer and load the car.  Tomorrow morning will just be tossing in the last few odds and ends (like our pillows) and we’ll be off to live in our canvas hotel for two weeks (too many amenities and conveniences to really call it camping).

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 25, 2015 1:32 am

    I really enjoy your blog, so I have nominated you for a Liebster Award, (which you are free to accept or refuse.) The Liebster Award is basically an award that is by bloggers, for bloggers. It’s passed from person to person to encourage connection and support within our writing community, and to aid in the discovery of new and upcoming bloggers. Thanks for the great blog!

Leave a Reply

