Skip to content

Project Completed

January 10, 2015

One of the things that’s nice about the SCA and something that’s really been improving recently is the pageantry and display of heraldry.  Our friends in the Barony of Cynnabar use their heraldry for display all the time, especially with some colorful banners at events.

Banner PileI decided to make a set of similar banners for the Barony of Andelcrag, where we live on the west side of the state.  I had to do something I’d never planned on – buying a serger – for this, since no way did I want to turn and stitch hems for miles on these long pieces!  A little research and a little looking on Craigslist netted me a slightly used serger, which I’m sure will come in handy for other projects as well.

BannersI did a test run of some banners when the Hubs was away for a weekend in December and made four almost-finished – I just had to attach ties.  A little more yellow fabric resulted in four more banners, ties attached and all!

After some commentary on the picture I posted on Facebook, I’m going to make four more as a gift – a little inter-kingdom largesse.  We stopped at the fabric store today, but unfortunately they were out of the white, so I’ll have to look elsewhere before too long.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

