Skip to content

Pennsic Approaching!

July 18, 2014

Is part of the reason that it has, once again, been a while since I’ve posted.  Summer semester also burned me up, but that ended a few weeks ago and I’ve been feeling that nag in my brain to post again, so here I am!

I don’t really have any major sewing to do this year – we both have plenty of garb – though I think we might be wishing for some warmer clothes if the weather stays as cool as it has been lately.  It’s kind of odd to wear long pants and a long-sleeved shirt in mid-July!  I’m not really complaining, though, because I think this is better than the alternative of high temps and high humidity.

My current sewing project is a new fighting jacket for the Hubs.  The one we made a few years ago is bulky and hot because it has cotton quilt batting between two layers of linen, so this one is just the two layers of linen (5.3 ounce) that some other fighters have used as well.

JacketThe jacket itself is done, along with mascles appliqued along the hem and on the sleeves.  The Hubs is working on some lucet cord to run along one edge of the opening to use as a closure with cloth buttons, which you can see here!  Buttons

These are my standard cloth self-stuffed buttons (which I really need to do a quick tutorial on for a friend).  We’re going to use the lucet cord to form loops to put the buttons through and keep the jacket shut.  I’m hoping that works out, otherwise there will be buttonholes to be sewn as well.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

