Skip to content

Gimme a Belt!

April 4, 2014

Last Saturday at Terpsichore at the Tower, I was honored to be taken as a protege to Sir Straum, Knight of the Society and Master of the Order of the Pelican (also founding Baron of Cynnabar, but that’s another story).  The Pelican-protege relationship is one of mentoring and support and, in the case of Straum and I, to support and learn from each other in our continued careers in the SCA.

In the Middle Kingdom, the tradition is that dependents in this type of relationship are given a belt – red for squires, green for apprentices, and yellow for proteges.  At first, I was hesitant to wear a yellow belt.  I’ve seen a lot of them that are big and gaudy and are too often used by their wearers as some kind of status symbol.  The more I thought about it, though, the more I knew it would make Straum happy if I wore his belt at least part of the time, so he made a belt for me!

Belts2I may need a bigger box…  These are my (current) belts – the small black one was made for me by the Hubs, the plaque belt was made by Count Alaric and his (then) squire Crispin (now Sir Crispin) when Hubs and I joined Alaric’s household, and the yellow belt is the one just made by Straum.  It may get more mounts at some point – apparently some of the ones Straum ordered didn’t come in on time.

I am hoping/planning to also weave myself a yellow belt before too long that I can wear with earlier-period garb when a leather belt is not appropriate.  The tablet weaving book I got for my birthday will come in handy there, since I would like to include lettering.

I was given a quest as part of my journey as a protege.  Part of it I have largely no control over, since it requires other individuals to give feedback on my actions based on chivalric virtues.  I do need to learn a new skill that I will teach to my fellow household members and the populace.  My own item on the quest is to do a Pentathlon entry to the arts and sciences competition.  This is something I’ve been talking about doing for the last several years and now I have some impetus to make it happen!   The Pentathlon is an entry of items from at least five different categories across four of the different divisions in the A&S criteria.  I have some ideas of what I’d like to do, but I’m open to a lot of possibilities at this point.

Terp Evergreen 14I also completed a scroll for this event – an Order of the Evergreen for a person skilled in period cooking.  Once again, I relied on the Manesse Codex for my illumination.  There’s such a wide variety of images in this manuscript, I knew I’d be able to find some figures and details that suited the theme of this scroll.  Where else can you find a cauldron cooking over a fire and a chicken in a dish on a tabletop in the same manuscript?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. belleandgeorge permalink
    April 7, 2014 1:48 pm

    we can perhaps cheer each other on with the pentathlon. I’m to do that next year.
    -Jahanara

Leave a Reply

