Skip to content

It’s My Birthday (Almost) and I Made Cake!

March 18, 2014

My birthday is actually next week Monday, but since we finished off the last cake and I haven’t made any new cookies in a while, I gave this recipe a try.
Ganache CakeThis is another recipe from Food52, the same site as the no-knead sandwich bread I’ve been making – so far the recipes I’ve tried from this site have turned out pretty well.

I had to adapt this one a bit because the original calls for sour cherry jam between the cake layers and someone doesn’t like cooked cherries.  I can’t actually complain about this too much – I have my own food texture dislikes.  Instead of cherry jam, I used some seedless raspberry I had on hand and I’m sure that will be fine.  Raspberry and chocolate generally go pretty well together.

The cake went together pretty easily and is topped with a simple ganache glaze – hot cream, chocolate, and a bit of butter blended together.

Hubs is off at pottery class tonight, so we’ll see how it tastes later – happy birthday to me!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

