Skip to content

Baking Bonanza

March 10, 2014

I made two really good recipes in the last couple of weeks.

First I made these Chai Oatmeal Cookies from Bakepedia.  I was in the mood for something a little different (read: not chocolate) and the Hubs and I both like oatmeal cookies.  It’s always kind of a challenge to find one that is chewy and not too flat, but these absolutely fit the bill!

chai-oatmeal-cookies_2  This photo is from the Bakepedia website, but mine turned out very similar – perhaps a little flatter, though I added about a quarter-cup of almond flour that I had on hand and wanted to use up.  The almond flour is denser than regular wheat flour, so it tends to keep things flatter in baked goods unless you add extra leavening, but I didn’t want to mess around with that.  These cookies are still tasty and chewy after about 10 days, though we’re almost done with them at this point.  I really liked the use of golden raisins in this recipe – I think they have a more fruity flavor than regular raisins.

German Chocolate CupcakesFor a get-together with friends over the weekend, I made these German Chocolate Cupcakes from Cooking Classy.  We were having a kind of German-themed dinner with sauerbraten and red cabbage with apples, and there were a couple of votes for German chocolate cake (even though it’s not really an ethnically German dish) for dessert.  I’ve made the full-on layer cake before and it’s kind of a pain, so I hunted around until I turned up this recipe – and they were totally worth it!

This recipe has several steps – make the cupcakes and let them cool, make the coconut topping, make the frosting, then assemble – but again, totally worth it!  Chocolatey goodness in the cupcakes, rich chewy-crunchy coconut and pecan topping, more chocolatey goodness in the frosting piped around the edge.  They were a big hit at the dinner and I’ll probably make them again.  The nice thing is that the recipe only makes 12 cupcakes, so you’re not overwhelmed with them after the fact.  We didn’t even come home with any, even though there were only 8 of us at the party!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

