Skip to content

Fourteen is Fine

February 12, 2014

Andelcrag BookmarksOne project checked off the list of things to be finished before Saturday!  Last night, while watching the American women’s curling team get trounced by Great Britain at the Olympics, I finished up a batch of card woven bookmarks in the colors of the Barony of Andelcrag with a little bit of the baronial device as the design.  Some good friends of ours are being installed this weekend as the new Baronesses (mother and daughter) on Saturday and I wanted to give them a gift.

ButtonholesSo one down, umpteen more to go!  I also got started stitching the buttonholes on the wool dress last night – 5 of 16 finished.  I’m using silk thread for these – this is Vineyard Silk‘s “Bonfire” color – and it’s so nice to work with!  Because it’s really an embroidery floss rather than an outright sewing thread, it’s very soft and silky – much easier on the hands than a lighter weight/more tightly twisted thread.  The technique I’m using for the buttonholes is from La Cotte Simple, a medieval fashion blog.  Previously, I had done buttonholes by simply stitching around the ends of the opening but I’m finding this new technique faster and also that it keeps the buttonhole more uniform.  I can set them closer to the edge of the fabric as well!

Now, time to work on a scroll…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2014 8:54 pm

    Hi, thanks for linking to my buttonhole info! Yours look great in that picture above. Nice work, and I’m glad my interpretation works so well for your project.

    • February 13, 2014 7:48 am

      You’re very welcome! Thanks for posting the tutorial – I’m finding these are a lot easier to make uniform than stitching all around the ends of the opening. 🙂

Leave a Reply

