Skip to content

Modern Craft-y Fun!

December 5, 2013

I did a little research the other day and found some beads that will work for my new hood at a local store and went out and got them on Tuesday.  Despite this, and despite a current urge to do something crafty with my hands, I’m just not feeling the urge to get started on that part of completing the hood!

Luckily, I have a couple of other projects on the docket.  One of these is making some little gifts for the 12th Night celebration coming at the start of January.  This year I had a couple of food ideas in mind, but they both required jars to distribute and that’s kind of a big expense.

So, I’m falling back on the felt ornament option since it’s something that doesn’t require a major cash outlay and the pieces are things we can work on while watching TV in the evenings.  There’s also the added advantage of getting us to spend less time mindlessly surfing the internet or playing games on the computer!

After doing a little searching for ideas, I have a couple of different designs we’re going to work with and I went out yesterday to pick up some craft felt to get started (4 sheets for $1 – you can’t beat that!).  Of course, all of this would be really cool to do with actual wool felt, but that’s significantly more costly as well.

Poin 1Last night, I put aside my computer (except as a pattern reference) and cut out the pieces for one of the designs I want to make.  About 40 minutes of assembly later, this is the end result – a sweet little felt poinsettia with a wooden bead center!  The pattern and instructions for this piece can be found here.  As you can see, she uses a pearl button or a bunch of little wooden beads for the center, but I have a couple of bags of 5/16″ unfinished wooden beads on hand from a previous project so I’ll be using those instead.

The finished flower is about 3″ across at its widest point.  This would be easy enough to enlarge if you wanted a bigger finished piece – just start with bigger squares of felt.  I wouldn’t go any smaller, though, unless you have really nimble fingers, good eyesight, and lots of patience!  The assembly isn’t difficult but it does require a little bit of dexterity to pinch the individual leaves/petals together and stitch them and then get them tightly linked together.  I’m going to attach a little loop of ribbon to the back of this so it can hang, but you could easily glue on a small magnet or pin back for alternate applications.  You could also change the color of the petals to give a different look if you wanted to play around a bit – I’m tempted to try a white poinsettia with a yellow center just for fun!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

