Skip to content

Scrolls 18 & 19

November 22, 2013

I realized yesterday that I hadn’t posted images of the scrolls I made for last weekend’s event!  I had a good time with both of these.  They’re both for people I know and I always enjoy making a scroll for someone that I know is going to enjoy it.

Grand Tourney Cavendish 13This first one is a Cavendish Knot, an award given for skill and service in rapier combat.  When I thought about the recipient and the award, I had another one of my “visions” of what I wanted the piece to look like and I’m really happy with the way it turned out.  The person who received this award is a very unpretentious lady, so I knew she would appreciate something simple and straightforward.  I especially like the way the little bit of shading on the knot came out.

Picture1The second scroll is an Order of the Willow, which is given for proficiency in the arts.  The person who received this award is a tremendously enthusiastic participant in the SCA and in many, many arts.  She loves to learn to do new things and she really loves to share what she knows by teaching to others.  One of the things she frequently teaches are classes on blackwork embroidery and when I had put in an award recommendation for her and started thinking about a scroll, I knew I wanted to use some blackwork motifs in the design.  I even thought about getting some perforated paper and doing actual blackwork as the decoration on the scroll, but I never got that far.  I did do some looking and found a pattern for a willow tree done in blackwork (it’s a modern design, but it worked for what I needed).  I also included hearts in the design since that is part of the lady’s device.  I’m pleased with the way this scroll turned out as well – I like the thin black highlight I gave to to the gold to make it stand out a little more.  I also tried a new hand for the calligraphy on this one and I think it turned out pretty well!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

