Skip to content

One Project Ends, One Project Begins

November 7, 2013

Bouncer GartersFinished up yesterday with the garter project – Bouncer couldn’t resist helping with them!  I enjoy doing work like this.  I like weaving, but I don’t want to fall into the trap of making things just to make them and then ending up with tons of finished work laying around and nothing to do with it!  It’s nice to have a defined project that has a specific goal as an outcome.

Cynnabar 2013 CardsNow, on to the next one!  I spent a couple of hours last night warping the loom once again, this time with a card weaving pattern.  This will be the aforementioned trim to be donated as a prize for Cynnabar’s Grand Tournament next Saturday.  The pattern has 26 cards, which I think is the widest I’ve done yet.  All of my previous weaving has been done using size 10 cotton crochet thread.  This works well but can be a little bulky, especially with card weaving where there are threads that tend to be hidden within the weave.  This time I’m trying some size 20 thread – as with electrical wiring, the higher the number, the finer the thread.  I’m excited to see how it turns out – fingers crossed that I threaded the cards correctly!  We’ll see when I start doing some weaving later…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

