Skip to content

Scroll 17 – Done!

October 3, 2013

Finished 2Today I finished the scroll that is due for morning court at this weekend’s Coronation.  All I had left to do was the lettering and erasing the pencil marks.  Yesterday I picked up a couple of new Micron pens and did the outlining, so that was ready to go.

As previously mentioned, the text is written in Hungarian runes which is why I feel safe posting it before the event.  Plus, because this is a Royal Vanguard award, the recipient already knows he’s getting it!

In general, I am pleased with the way this turned out.  I didn’t over-do it on any of the painting or details, so it’s a good example of how simpler can be better sometimes.  I’m glad I didn’t try to outline the dragon’s “whiskers” – I think that would have made them stand out a little too much.  If I’m there to have any say in the matter, I’m going to ask that the kingdom seal be put in the lower right corner.  It will overlap the whiskers a little bit, but that’s ok with me – I’m not a stickler about “covering up the artwork”!

Rose CropTulip CropA couple of close-up details of the rose and tulip – I’m happy with the way both of these turned out and so glad that I found good designs to trace!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

