Skip to content

Weekend Cooking

August 26, 2013

I know I haven’t posted much of what I’ve been cooking lately – just out of laziness – but here are a couple of things I made this weekend.

Banana BreadFirst, I made this Chai-Spiced Banana Bread from Once Upon a Chef.  It smelled really good when I was mixing the ingredients together and while it was baking – lots of nice spices like cardamom, cinnamon, ginger, and allspice.  It doesn’t taste particularly strongly of spice, however.  The recipe does say it’s best served warm, so that might make a difference in bringing out the flavor.  Even so, it does have a good flavor and is nicely moist.  I did substitute nonfat Greek yogurt for the sour cream called for in the recipe and it worked just fine.  Never mind the giant cucumber lurking in the background of this photo – it goes with the next recipe!

Next up is a Greek Tomato-Feta-Quinoa Salad.  This was inspired by a bag of little red, yellow, and orange grape tomatoes delivered from our neighbor’s garden.  Once again I’ll say how lucky we are to have great neighbors on both sides of us!  It’s nice to be able to share things like this back and forth.  So I actually had the idea for this salad myself and then Googled up a recipe just to have a fallback.  I don’t have a picture of my own version, and it’s not nearly as pretty as the pictures from the original blog anyway!  Hubs and I agreed that it’s tasty, but despite the fact that quinoa is protein on its own, we like to have a little actual meat if this is going to be a meal and not just a side dish.  Yesterday we had some with sliced garlic-mozzarella chicken sausage and it will probably go with some grilled chicken as well.  I think it needs more feta cheese than just the half-cup the recipe calls for, but it’s easy enough to sprinkle extra on top when serving.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

