Skip to content

Teriyaki Tuesday

February 19, 2013

IMG_2109The same blog that brought us last night’s lasagne roll ups has also produced tonight’s Slow Cooker Chicken Teriyaki.  I was looking over the lasagne recipe and saw the photo of this one in the sidebar, so I clicked on it and there you go!

I made only one small adjustment to the recipe itself – I didn’t have apple cider vinegar so I used some rice wine vinegar instead, and I reduced the amount to just a quarter of a cup.  I really don’t like the flavor of vinegar so I try to minimize it where I can.  I think you could also use orange juice instead of the vinegar altogether if you wanted a more orange-flavored dish at the end.  The finished product had a slight acid bite, but without a really obvious vinegar taste.

We also stir-fried some mixed veggies (broccoli, red pepper, pea pods, and water chestnuts) to serve alongside the meat and put everything over brown rice for lots of healthy goodness.

I’m pleasantly surprised at how good this turned out!  The chicken shredded nicely after about five and a half hours on low in the slow cooker.  I did take the lid off once to flip the pieces so they would all be down in the sauce.  The chicken by itself was tender but just the slightest bit dry (as you’d expect from chicken breast cooked for so long) but once it was shredded and dressed with the sauce it was moist and tasty.  This one will definitely go into the rotation!

Leave a Reply

