Skip to content

Meatless Monday 2

January 28, 2013

So my last Meatless Monday was two weeks ago, and it had a somewhat unfortunate end.  While the black bean & sweet potato chili was good, it sadly coincided with a bout of stomach flu that hit me later that same night.  Even after a week went by and I was feeling fully recovered, I wasn’t able to face more of the chili.  The Hubs ate it without negative effect, however.  We just won’t be having it again for a while, until I’m over the mental effect of getting sick afterward…

Tonight’s offering was based on finding a recipe using quinoa as the main part of the meal.  I started thinking about quinoa patties and found this recipe for Cheesy Quinoa Cakes that sounded like a good start.  What I decided I wanted to make was a kind of quinoa patty parmesan – like chicken parmesan, but without the meat.  The patties by themselves are pretty tasty, though I think I added a bit too much red pepper flake.  Just one note – when the recipe says to fry for about 5 minutes before flipping, that’s exactly what it means!  If you try to turn them too early, the patties aren’t firm enough and try to stick to the pan.  The texture ends up being something like potato pancakes – crispy on the outside, soft and a little chewy on the inside.

IMG_2075After all the patties were fried, I put them in a single layer on a parchment-lined cookie sheet and sprinkled the tops with shredded mozzarella.  Then, under the broiler for a few minutes until the cheese was melted and beginning to brown – again like traditional chicken parmesan!

IMG_2073The final dish was topped with a quick tomato sauce made of a can of petite diced tomatoes, a small (8 oz?) can of tomato sauce, some minced garlic, oregano, basil, salt, and pepper simmered down while I was cooking the patties.  A little more parmesan and/or mozzarella and dinner is born!  This could easily be accompanied by a green salad and maybe even some garlic bread if you wanted to go all out.

While we were eating, we started speculating about other variations.  I’m thinking a sweet patty with diced apple in place of the onion, some cinnamon, and maybe a little brown sugar mixed in.  Some shredded white cheddar wouldn’t go amiss in that mix either!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2013 9:09 am

    I need to try that. The last time I tried to make quinoa to was just a mush, whey is the secret to cooking it? I’m not doing well with meat and I need protein. Thanks for posting.

    • January 29, 2013 10:09 am

      This was 1 cup quinoa to 2 cups chicken broth, cooked for about 15 minutes and then let sit covered off the heat for probably about 10 more minutes. You want it to be simmering pretty briskly while it’s cooking. I wonder if you’re boiling it too hard and it’s breaking down? I’ve never had a problem with it turning to mush.

Leave a Reply

