Skip to content

Cross-Stitch Project

January 10, 2013

My mother bought this cross-stitch kit some unknown number of years ago with the intent that I would make it as a gift for my aunt and uncle as an anniversary gift.  There was some debate over whether it was the right thing or not, and how to add their names and wedding date to the overall design, so it ended up sitting in my cross-stitch stash for quite a while.  Finally this year she started pestering me about making it and we decided that it was a good gift, so I got started on it.

I started stitching in about the last week of October – I know I was working on the stems and leaves at Cynnabar’s Grand Tourney the first weekend of November.  I didn’t work on it every night, and there were a couple of times where a week went by that I didn’t touch it at all.

IMG_2070

I finished stitching just this week and conveniently I have a 60% off coupon for framing at Michael’s.  Unfortunately, the coupon is only good until tomorrow, so I need to get out to the store before we’re gone for the weekend!  Overall, this was a nice kit to make although I ran out of many of the colors of thread along the way.  Luckily, the manufacturer provided the DMC color numbers to go along with the thread in the kit, I had all of them in my collection, and none of them were too far apart in terms of dye lots so I was able to fill in as needed.

So congrats to my Aunt Lois and Uncle Fritz, who have been married over 61 years!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 10, 2013 4:36 pm

    Beautiful. Congratulations to your Auntie and Uncle!

Leave a Reply

