Skip to content

Scroll 1

November 5, 2012

It’s a double post Monday!

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I’ve set myself a challenge to make a scroll blank each week.  I don’t have an end date for this, I’m just going to try to do as many as I can.  I completed this first one on Friday, November 2.  It’s inspired by an Egyptian motif I saw in a Dover clip art booklet.  I’ll admit right away that I don’t know the actual source for this design, other than Dover’s indication of it being Egyptian.  I don’t have the actual booklet and Dover doesn’t always have good source information anyway.  It’s done on the lightweight Pergamenata paper, a vegetable-based vellum alternative and is 8×10″.

At any rate, I saw the design, it appealed to me, and I thought it would make a good pattern for a scroll – something a little different from the usual patterns.  I think it turned out all right.  I’m never happy with my outline work – this time I tried a fine-point nib, but still ended up with a little bit of a thicker line than I would have liked.  As you can see, I’m not always good at creating a smooth outline!  The gold is Schminke Pearl Gold gouache over a yellow gouache base.  I’m not really happy with the tone of this either.  I think I need to darken the yellow base a little with a touch of brown so it gives the gold less of a really yellow tone.

This week’s project will be a small piece with a design I’ve used on some note cards in the past – I have grading to do and we are leaving early Friday afternoon for a trip out of town, so I have a little less time than I would like to work.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

