Skip to content

Weaving Done…And a New Challenge

October 29, 2012

The weaving for Grand Tournament is finished!  I took it off the loom last night.  I’m pretty happy with the way it turned out, though I have a little bit of a mystery that I need to talk to some other card weavers about.  I’ve done quite a bit of inkle weaving and I’ve never had a problem with the material tightening up too much on the loom.  Both the green trim I just did and this project got to a point where I had to slip the warp off one of the pegs of the loom to loosen it up enough that I could slide it around when I needed more space to work.  It seems like the card weaving just wants to tighten up a lot more than inkle weaving does for some reason.  Maybe it’s the fact that there are so many warp threads?  This project had 30 cards, so 120 warp threads.  I can imagine that might cause it to really tighten up as the weaving progresses.  At any rate, I wound up with about 8 feet, 8 inches of woven trim overall, not including the fringe at each end.

My new challenge is this:  Over the last couple of events, I’ve lettered some scrolls for court but I used blanks that I already had and I haven’t made a complete scroll since Val Day back in February.  I’m feeling out of practice and like I’m not doing as much as I could.  I also feel like I have quite a bit of free time at home that too often I spend behind the computer and in front of the TV.  So last week the little voice in my head made a suggestion and, for a change, I’m listening!  My challenge to myself is to start making a scroll blank each week – doing the illumination so that I have my own work ready for court assignments.  I’ve started already with some pencil work on a piece today, and I’ll post an image of each scroll as I get them finished.  I’m feeling very excited about this new project and I’ll do my best to stick to it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. belleandgeorge permalink
    October 30, 2012 1:18 am

    I’ve set a similar goal myself, once I get TRH website designed… thanks to it, though, I’ve lots of research in early Russian Illumination that I want to play with 🙂

  2. October 30, 2012 7:15 am

    Cool! Any links you can share? 🙂

Leave a Reply

