Skip to content

Embroidery Finished!

April 7, 2012

Last night I finished the embroidery part of my brick stitch pouch project!  I just had a few little filler bits at the end to finish up, so it went pretty quickly.  I’m really pleased with the way this has turned out so far!

Now comes the finishing work.  I’m going to line the piece with red silk that will wrap over the ends.  The material will be stitched with some of the same silk thread used for the colored embroidery.

Then, I’ll do a decorative braid stitch to cover the outside of the seams with a four-strand braid for a carrying loop.  Finally, there will be braided drawstrings.  Only a week left to go!

For now, I’m off to a family Easter gathering and then to a friend’s birthday party in the evening – hopefully there will be time for some stitching as well!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2012 10:51 am

    is very pretty = how big is it?

    • April 8, 2012 2:24 pm

      Thanks! It’s about 6 by 12 inches. I’m working on finishing it into a small pouch.

  2. Cellach permalink
    April 7, 2012 2:57 pm

    That looks very nice! Good job

    • April 8, 2012 2:24 pm

      Thank you, Sir! I’ll be posting some more pics of the finishing process as I go.

Leave a Reply

