Skip to content

Finished Pennants

December 6, 2011

Here’s a picture of the finished silk pennants for the Cynnabar Grand Tournament, now that they’ve been displayed at the event and awarded to the victors!  I’m really pleased with the way these turned out.  I was super-careful in applying the paint and managed NOT to drip anywhere!  It is amazing how the silk will act as you’re applying the paint to it.  It tends to want to trampoline somewhat, which can cause the brush to bounce and fling paint where you don’t want it to go.  Painting requires a much lighter touch than what you might normally think.

My next project is the pennant commissioned by a friend for his wife.  I’ve got the silk all prepped and I just need to come up with a design…

I’m also prepping the items I plan to display as part of Cynnabar’s A&S Champion selection at Wassail in 2 weeks.  I’m going to show some of the brick stitch embroidery I’ve been working on as well as a variety of other arts such as cooking and manuscript illumination.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2011 11:47 pm

    I had the chance to see these in person at Grand Tourney, and they are just beautiful! I can’t wait to see them flying at events that the winners will attend in the coming year, too. Thank you so much for making these for the Barony of Cynnabar!

Leave a Reply

