Skip to content

Wonderful Weaving

November 16, 2011

Ever since I learned how to do inkle weaving, I’ve been enjoying working on projects here and there.  I’ve made trim for various projects and gifts for friends.  I made a batch of small bookmarks in the colors of the SCA kingdoms that I gave to the Queen a few reigns ago to be gifted to the other Queens at Pennsic.  Those were a load of fun to do, since I got to come up with lots of different patterns in lots of different colors.  Sadly, the patterns for these were lost in the Great Computer Death of Summer 2011, but I’d probably be able to recreate them if need be.

As Cynnabar’s Grand Tournament is approaching, I’ve been planning to make another band of trim to be given as a prize.  I had originally intended to card weave a band, but I chickened out as time is growing short (the event is in two and a half weeks) and I wasn’t feeling like going out for more thread.  The bummer about card weaving is that I don’t yet have a means of threading the cards without multiple spools of thread.  I know there’s a way of doing it by winding the length of thread you need around two pegs and then cutting individual strands, but I haven’t gotten there yet.  Inkle weaving is just faster for me to set up and do at this point, though I still had a little bit of a struggle with this one.

So last week, I set about making a pattern, which I then warped on my loom.

Cynnabar Grand Tournament 2011

Unfortunately, when I started doing a little weaving, the pattern wasn’t turning out as I had expected, so I had to adjust some of the thread placements.  Let me tell you, rethreading specific elements of a warp while not messing up the other threads is something of a chore!  It took me a couple of hours, but I got the pattern reworked so it would do what I wanted it to do.  The .pdf above is the adjusted pattern.

Last night, while the Hubs was at his Econ class, I started weaving.  I worked for about an hour or an hour and a half or so, and got almost a yard done!  That’s the nice thing about inkle weaving – it goes really quickly once you get the pattern set and start the actual weaving.  My loom makes about 3 yards of finished weaving, so it shouldn’t take me too long to get this band finished.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

