Skip to content

More Brickwork

November 15, 2011

I’ve been working on some more brickwork embroidery as I’m putting together gifts for 12th Night in January.  I’m having such fun with this technique!  As a bonus, when we were at Home Depot last week to get supplies for our electrical project, I picked up some CFL light bulbs that put out the equivalent of a 100-watt incandescent bulb to use in the lamp that sits at my end of the couch.  Previously, I had only had a 60-watt CFL in that light, and I could only work for a limited amount of time before the dim light made it difficult to see the threads.  I was even using a small hiking headlamp to give some additional light, but that ran through the batteries quickly!  The new bulb makes a world of difference – it’s so bright, I can see everything without using the headlamp.  I might even get to the point of putting a shade back on this lamp!

At any rate, here are my two new embroideries.  These will also be made into needle books for 12th Night.

This pattern is from the Medieval Arts & Crafts blog:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And this one is from the Medieval Silkwork blog:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Both patterns are worked using 4 strands of DMC embroidery floss on 28-count evenweave fabric.  The finished pieces are about 4×5 inches.  I’ll have to try to keep track of how long it takes me to complete the next one.  I haven’t really totaled up the hours at this point.  I usually work on this in the evening while watching TV – probably an hour or two at a time, but not every night of the week.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2011 5:48 pm

    I like the colours on the second better.
    I’m afraid I’ve shamelessly hoarded a few dozen proper 100w for my worklamp, as I can’t get on with the energy efficient ones for sewing at all and its just not worth straining your eyes

    • November 15, 2011 6:10 pm

      Thanks! Your work is beautiful, too! The colors on the first are heraldic for a particular person, so… 🙂 I’m doing pretty well with the 100-watt CFL light – it’s SOOOO bright, it makes everything really visible.

      • November 15, 2011 10:03 pm

        I find the problem is not brightness but that I can’t tell one colour from another with them, and they make my eyes hurt – it could be something to do with me being short-sighted though.

  2. December 8, 2011 11:45 pm

    I just love these brickwork designs! You’re doing such a lovely job! I find a bright light makes a world of difference, too — I’m using a plant grow light at my desk. LOVE it!

    • December 9, 2011 2:02 am

      Thanks! I’m having lots of fun with them. You didn’t get to see my big book of German embroidery that I had at Grand Tourney, did you? Lots of new patterns to work out!

      • December 9, 2011 2:28 pm

        No, I didn’t! I’d love to see it! Next time you have it at an event, please let me know. 🙂

      • December 9, 2011 3:12 pm

        I’ll bring it to Wassail next week, if you’re going to be there. It’s an inter-library loan book, so I’ll only have it for a limited time.

  3. December 9, 2011 10:29 am

    Thank you! I will be there, but only in the evening as I have my annual family gathering that day. I expect to arrive around 6.

Leave a Reply

