Skip to content

Brickwork Project #1 Finished!

August 23, 2011

So once again, I am loving this new technique I picked up at Pennsic!  I’m a pattern-lover at heart and doing something like this just gives me that satisfied feeling as I see the design developing.

Since I finished stitching the pattern over the weekend, I took a little time yesterday to finish the piece as a whole.  I took some scrap linen and made a lining for it and sewed it on, wrong sides together.  I left part of one short end open to turn the piece right side out.  I also stitched in a little piece of the braid I had made to form the loop to close the needle book.  Then, I trimmed the corners to reduce bulk inside the piece once it was turned.

I also planned to put a layer of cotton quilt batting inside the piece, but decided to just slip that in once I had turned it, rather than trying to stitch it in place.  Here is the turned piece – you can see the unstitched opening at the end.  At first, I made the quilt batting large enough that it covered the whole interior of the piece.  However, with the added bulk of the seam allowance, I thought it made the piece too bulky around the edges.  I trimmed down the batting so it was just big enough to fit inside the seam allowances inside the piece.

Finally, I tucked in the edges of the opening and hand-stitched it to close.  Then, I sewed on a small wooden bead as a button that the braided loop would slip over, and it’s done!  My first brick stitch embroidery project!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cellach permalink
    August 23, 2011 5:00 pm

    That looks really good. I’ve been wanting to do some brickwork for a little while now.

Leave a Reply

