Skip to content

The Brown Bliaut Progress 5/23/11

May 23, 2011

The bliaut is almost done!  Today, I finished attaching the trim around the neck and put the armbands on!  Now, all that’s left is the hem and ideally, that will get pinned tonight and I can sew it on Tuesday or Wednesday.  I don’t have an underdress to wear with it, but I do have an appropriate chemise, so that will have to be good enough for now.  Considering that the room Crown Tournament is typically held in, I think that two layers will be enough anyway.

I also finished heat-setting the new silk pennants today, so all that’s left of those is to give them a quick rinse before trimming.  I don’t think I’m going to worry about getting the resist off this time, but rinsing will take out some of the extra dye and reduce some of the marbling effect in the larger spots.  Then, I need to trim them down to the resist line and attach ties at the end and they’ll be ready for the weekend as well!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

