Skip to content

Pennsic University

March 16, 2011

This year I am the Chancellor of Pennsic University at Pennsic War 40.  This will be less work than last year’s job coordinating A&S Point at the University, which required me to be at the point at least twice a day to open and close, with numerous trips back and forth to camp throughout the day – lots of walking!  I think being Chancellor will mainly have a lot going on before the event, but less so at the actual war.

Last week, I emailed several historic tent-making companies to ask them if they would be willing to donate some canvas for us to make new signs for the University tents and I got positive responses from several companies.  Yesterday I got a delivery from Panther Primitives who sent me about 10 pieces of canvas for a total of almost 30 yards of material!  Panther rocks!  I also have a delivery coming from Tentsmiths that should be here by the end of the week, so it looks like we will be making tent signs very soon.

This weekend is Terpsichore at the Tower, a dance event sponsored by the Barony of Cynnabar.  There is traditionally a dessert buffet during the dancing, so I’ll be doing some baking to get ready for that.  Today, I’ll be making Idle Hand Bars, a peanut butter/chocolate/pretzel concoction from the Guilty Kitchen blog.  The sweet/salty/crunchy combo sounds too good to be true.

I also plan to make a historical recipe from the 16th century as part of my quest to do 50 period desserts for the AS50 project.  Will likely be making an apple pie recipe from Sabina Welserin’s cookbook – they are so straightforward and easy to interpret!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

